1. Who We Are
  2. »
  3. About Energy Safety

About Energy Safety

The Office of Energy Infrastructure Safety was established on July 1, 2021. As of January 1, 2022, the Underground Facilities Safe Excavation Board joined the Office.

Energy Safety was established on July 1, 2021 to ensure electrical utilities are taking effective actions to reduce utility-related wildfire risk. Its mission expanded to underground safety with the addition of the Underground Facilities Safe Excavation Board (Underground Safety). The office operates under several guiding principles, one of which is delivering near-term results while promoting a long-term utility vision to reduce wildfire and underground risk and to build safety cultures. To achieve our mission, measures are being implemented to ensure an integrated, utility-related wildfire mitigation and underground safety approach; -incorporate local perspectives into a utility’s process to reflect community differences; support decision making with data and analytics; and, when possible, exercise innovative problem solving for developing new utility wildfire and underground safety solutions. We receive and incorporate guidance from the Wildfire Safety Advisory Board and we are comprised of four divisions and two directorates.

Refer to our Strategic Roadmap for more information on our wildfire risk reduction strategy.